2 months

image

I’m not really sure where the time went. I just know that it’s gone.
Two months have slipped past my knowledge and I am staring at my now two month old little girl realizing this is just the beginning. This is just the start of many years to come lost in confusion in the popular phrase “Where has the time gone?”. I have been through this before and thought this time it would be different. I thought this time I would somehow be able to master the skill of slowing time down in order to cherish every second. Only to realize there is no skill to be mastered and it is simply impossible. Before I know it I will be writing a post about her first birthday and referencing back to this very moment. I promised myself I wouldn’t let life take me away from her and wouldn’t allow it to distract me from the most important thing. Unfortunately my brain and life had other plans and it seems as though stress and all the other responsibilities of being a parent and an adult still somehow suck away the opportunity to solely focus on her and my boys. It’s a work in progress. That is something I can work on, fix and master. And I have all intentions on doing so. But for now I will continue to enjoy the moments I do have to just hold her little body in my hands and gaze into her eyes knowing that one day I will only be able to do these things in memory.

4 thoughts on “2 months

  1. Ah, love this bittersweet observation. I had to find you after noticing your comment on the post about my daughter turning five. And here you are, with a two-month-old. The time slips and slides right through our fingers no matter what, apparently. Sigh. Maybe just being aware that it’s happening means we’ll hold on a tiny bit better. Good luck!

    Like

Leave a Reply

